Destiny Expansion 2015
Artwork for Destiny expansion House of Wolves.Bungie

Destiny's servers are down worldwide for an estimated six hours due to scheduled maintenance across all versions of the game on PS4, Xbox One, PS3 and Xbox 360. This comes two weeks ahead of the release of anticipated expansion The Taken King.

The servers went offline at 4pm BST (8am PT / 11am ET) and will return at around 10pm BST (2pm PT / 5pm ET) should everything go to plan. In announcing the maintenance period Bungie noted that "players signed in shortly before maintenance will receive prior notice via in-game messaging" and that "some Bungie.net sign-in and Companion app services may be restricted" during the down time.

The Taken King launches on 15 September, marking roughly a year since the game first launched. Upon release in 2014 it quickly became the most succcessful video game IP ever, shipping (not selling) $500 million worth of units to retail on day one.

It has fostered an enormous following, with over 16 million registered users as of January 2015. To date two expansions have launched - The Dark Below in December 2014 and House of Wolves in May 2015. The Taken King is the first major expansion, bringing with a lot of new features.

It includes a whole new area to explore (an enormous spaceship called the Dreadnaught) a new enemy type (The Taken), seven new multiplayer Crucible maps and two new multiplayer modes. There are also many new items of weaponry and gear, upgrades to the class system. To coincide with this release actor Peter Dinklage has also been removed from the game entirely, with all his dialogue re-recorded by Nolan North - likely due to the former's schedule.

For all the latest video game news, follow us on Twitter @IBTGamesUK.