Destiny The Taken King
A screenshot from The Taken King.Bungie

Bungie has announced that Destiny's servers on both PS4 and Xbox One will be offline for up to six hours on Monday 22 June from 4pm UK time, 5pm Central European Time. In the US the servers are going down at 11am Eastern, 8am Pacific.

The announcement was made in a tweet from the official Bungie Twitter account.

"Future plans," may indicate that the maintenance is something to do with Destiny's first "major expansion" The Taken King, which was announced at Sony's E3 2015 press conference on Tuesday 16 June and will be released on 15 September 2015.

Following the online shooter's two smaller expansions The Dark Below and House of Wolves, The Taken King will include an entire new location to the game - an enormous space ship called the Dreadnought - and new sub-classes for each of Destiny's three main classes.

More features will also be included including weapons and PvP multiplayer maps. You can watch the announcement trailer for The Taken King below.

For the latest video game news follow us on Twitter @IBTGamesUK.