The Division
A screenshot from Tom Clancy's The DivisionUbisoft

The closed beta for Tom Clancy's The Division will be down for three hours today (29 January) on Xbox One ahead of its launch on PS4 and PC. Between the hours of 9am GMT and 12pm GMT the game will be undergoing maintenance.

For players in central Europe the period lasts from 10am to 1pm, in the US it'll be 1am PT / 4am ET to 4am PT / 7am ET. Players in Australasia will not be able to pay the game between 8pm and 11pm AEDT. Ubisoft Australia's Twitter account confirmed news of the maintenance period.

The down time ends one hour before the beta launches on PS4 and PC at 1pm GMT.

The beta period started yesterday (28 January) on Xbox One and will last until Sunday 31st on all platforms. The massively multiplayer game is always-online, much like Destiny, and so Ubisoft needs to test its online infrastructure ahead of the game's launch.

Testing will also allow Ubisoft some time to tweak AI, weapon stats and other aspects of the game based on user feedback. Only a limited portion of the final product is available during the beta and progress will not carry over.

The Division is a third-person, persistently-online shooter set in New York after a devastating viral outbreak. In an effort to rebuild and claim back the island of Manhattan players team up and compete against each other to complete missions and fight for resources.

The game will be released on PS4, Xbox One and PC on 8 March.

For all the latest video game news follow us on Twitter @IBTGamesUK.