World of Warcraft screenshot
A dragon mount in World of Warcraft.Activision Blizzard

Blizzard has announced the next expansion for massively multiplayer online (MMO) game World Of Warcraft will be revealed during a special live stream to be held on Thursday 6 August at 5pm BST (9am PDT, 12pm ET).

The stream will come live from Gamescom – the world's largest gaming trade show – in Cologne, Germany, where around 350,000 people are expected to flock to play the latest video games set for release in 2015 and 2016.

A chat with the developers behind the new expansion will take place an hour before the announcement. The new expansion will be the game's sixth, following on from World Of Warcraft: Warlords Of Draenor, which was released in late 2014. Blizzard's release schedule for the expansions to date indicates that numero six will be released in November 2016.

World Of Warcraft had around seven million subscribers as of early 2015, a figure that topped 10 million following the release of Warlords Of Draenor.

Gamescom runs from 5 to 9 August with over 700 exhibitors heading to Europe to peddle their wares. Microsoft and EA will each by holding press conferences detailing their future release schedules, with Microsoft's in particular of great interest given it will star three games that were not on show at E3 in June. IBTimes UK will be in attendance.

For all the latest video game news follow us on Twitter @IBTGamesUK.