India hockey team
India beat Ireland 3-2 in their opening game of the 2016 Rio OlympicsGetty

Germany take on India in the second game in Group B on Monday (8 August).

Where to watch live

The match starts at 3pm BST. The hockey matches of the Rio 2016 Olympics will be telecasted live on BBC One, BBC Four and Red Button in the United Kingdom. In addition to this, there will be up to 24 HD video streams to follow the event on desktop, mobile and tablet.

Below is a list of all Olympics 2016 Hockey broadcasters from across the world.


Defending Olympic champions Germany started their Rio 2016 Olympic campaign on an impressive note, thrashing Canada 6-1 in the opening game on 6 August.

The German squad comprises five Olympic Gold medalists from London, and in midfielder Moritz Furste they have a player who is considered one of the best in the world.

Germany's last defeat against India in the Olympics was at the 1996 Atlanta Games when they were beaten 3-0. However, such a result looks unlikely considering the talent at their disposal.

Their opponents India come into this clash after breaking a 12-year Olympic jinx, winning their opening encounter against Ireland 3-2.

Roelant Oltmans' men looked impressive in the first half only to survive some nervy moments in the end. Penalty corner specialist Rupinder Pal Singh and drag flickers V.R Raghunath were the stars for the Men In Blue helping the team scrape out victory.

All three of India's goals against Ireland came via penalty corners, which looks like their main source for goals. The team will need everyone to step up if they are to upset the reigning champions on Monday.

Team news


Goalkeepers:Nicolas Jacobi, Tobias Walter

Defenders: Martin Haner, Timm Herzbruch, Florian Fuchs, Jan Philipp

Midfielders: Oskar Deecke, Constantin Staib, Tobias Haucke, Tom Grambusch, Pilt Arnold,

Forwards: Oliver Korn, Martin Zwicker, Benedikt Furk, Moritz Rothlander, Marco Miltkau


Goalkeepers:PR Sreejesh (c)

Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Kothajit Singh, Surendar Kumar, VR Raghunath,

Midfielders:Manpreet Singh, Sardar Singh, SK Uthappa, Danish Mujtaba, Devender Walmiki, Chinglenana Singh.

Forwards:SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah

Below is a list of TV channels that would air the game around the world:

Country/Region Broadcaster
United Kingdom BBC
Argentina America Movil, DirecTV, ESPN, Fox Sports
Australia 7mate
Austria ZDF
Brazil Fox Sports Brazil
Chile ESPN, Fox Sports
Colombia ESPN, Fox Sports
Canada CBC/Radio-Canada
France France 4, Foot+
Germany ZDF, ARD
Honduras Claro Sports
Hong Kong TVB Sport
Ireland LFC TV
Ireland RTE
India Star Sports
Middle East beIN Sports Arabia
Netherlands NOS
New Zealand Sky Television
Portugal Sport TV3
Spain TVE La 1, TDP
United States USA Network, NBC Sports