Metal Gear Solid 5 Phantom Pain
Metal Gear Solid 5 protagonist Big Boss in promo art for the new gameKonami

Update: The trailer has now been released.

Original story: The launch trailer for Metal Gear Solid 5: The Phantom Pain will hit the internet on 25 August at 2pm UK time. The trailer, called Evolution and Harmony, the final promo was personally put together by series creator Hideo Kojima.

The Phantom Pain launches on 1 September on PS4, Xbox One, PC, PS3 and Xbox 360. Kojima is expected to part ways with Konami following the game's launching, leaving the series in their hands, making this trailer his last.

In mid-August Kojima revealed he was working on the new trailer, saying on Twitter: "As the launch is approaching I'm editing new trailer w/less spoiler. 'The evolution & harmony of Metal Gear,' if I name it in EXPO-ish theme."

He then added: "I'm making a new trailer for MGS series fans. It's not a Hollywoody big budget pre-rendered one but it'll be 'hand made' w/ sweet memories," before confirming earlier today (24 August) that the trailer will go live tomorrow at 2pm BST, 6am PT, 9am ET and 11pm in Japan.

Kojima created the Metal Gear series in the 1980s with the release of Metal Gear in 1987. It wasn't until Metal Gear Solid in 1998 that the series took off, spawning four console sequels since and a number of spin-offs for handheld devices.

The Phantom Pain completes the story, filling in the period of time between 60s-set prequel Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater and the first Metal Gear game. It follows Big Boss as he journeys a dark road to villainy.

For all the latest video game news follow us on Twitter @IBTGamesUK.