Times Square lights
New Year’s Eve 2015: Iconic Times Square crystal ball tested before big dropReuters

Partygoers all over the world ushered in the new year in their own way with some heading to noisy concerts while others witnessing spectacular fireworks and celebrations at special new year gatherings. Meanwhile, social media was abuzz with post from their favorite celebrity celebrations on New Year's eve.

IB Times UK takes a look at how some of our favourite celebrities rang in the new year.

Modern family star Sofia Vergara was in a party mood and posted this picture of herself all dressed up for the event.

Hello 2016??????

A photo posted by Sofia Vergara (@sofiavergara) on

Legally Blonde actress Reese Witherspoon went all goofy posting her selfie with these 2016 goggles.

Did I mention happiest new year?!!?! ?????✨

A photo posted by Reese Witherspoon (@reesewitherspoon) on

Former English footballer David Beckham posted these adorable pictures with his wife and kids while celebrating a quiet new year.

And from us of course... Have an amazing 2016 ❤️❤️

A photo posted by David Beckham (@davidbeckham) on

Happy new year from our beautiful babies ❤️❤️❤️❤️

A photo posted by David Beckham (@davidbeckham) on

Brazilian footballer Neymar ushered in 2016 with his band of boys.

The immensely popular Taylor Swift, who always has some post to look forward to, gave posting on New Year's Eve a miss this time. But she did post a screenshot from the newly released video to her single Out of the Woods.

Are we in the clear yet? #OOTWMusicVideo Premiering at approximately 10:51pm EST on ABC

A photo posted by Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) on

Real Madrid star player Cristiano Ronaldo wished his followers on the new year with this quiet dinner party picture.

The only gift in life is love. Always choose love! Happy New Year to you all from yours truly.

A photo posted by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

Jenifer Lopez looked all decked up for a New Year party in this stunning picture.

Happy New Years!!!

A photo posted by Jennifer Lopez (@jlo) on

Country singer Luke Bryan posted this picture of himself performing at the Times Square in New York. A host of singers performed at the Square before Dick Clark's New Years Rockin' Evewent live on new Year's eve.

NYC, y'all are the best. Happy New Year everyone

A photo posted by Luke Bryan Official (@lukebryan) on

Demi Lovato also accompanied Luke Bryan at the Times Square performance.

Happy new year everyone ??? #rockineve #CONFIDENT2016

A photo posted by Demi Lovato (@ddlovato) on

Boyband One Direction's performance was one of the most awaited for the night at Times Square.

Ariana and Frankie Grande share their brother-sister moment one last time before welcoming the new year.

We love you and hope your 2016 is ALREADY off to a GRANDE start! ??? #newyearseve #2016 #happynewyear

A photo posted by Frankie James Grande (@frankiejgrande) on

International pop star Shakira posted this picture with her parents on the quiet dinner they enjoyed on New Year's Eve. She also posted a collage with pictures of her son and husband Gerard Pique trying to capture the year gone by.

Con papa y mama!

A photo posted by Shakira (@shakira) on

Pretty Little Liars star Lucy Hale seemed comfortable in welcoming the new year in her pyjamas.

First New Years in sweats.

A photo posted by Lucy Hale (@lucyhale) on

Elton John posted this picture of his boys and himself enjoying the snow on New Year's Eve.

Here in the snow with our beautiful boys. @davidfurnish #ShareTheLove

A photo posted by Elton John (@eltonjohn) on

X-men actor Hugh Jackman wished everyone a great 2016 while being one of the very first people to welcome the news year in Australia.

Happy New Year to you and yours. #2016

A photo posted by Hugh Jackman (@thehughjackman) on

And the much-loved Justin Beiber posted this picture just hours before welcoming the new year.

Happy New Years lets go

A photo posted by Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) on