Facebook logo
Facebook's real-name policy led to the account of a woman called Isis being blockedReuters

Facebook in 2014 introduced a new feature called Year In Review, which automatically collated images and posts from the entire year and compiled it into a video. However, some users had complained that the video collage had brought up bad memories.

Hence, the social media giant came up with a solution and is allowing users to edit the video and add or remove images before sharing it with their friends. Users can view the feature in their News Feed or can check it by clicking on a friend's Year In Review.

To edit the video, users need to click on the customise button at the top or bottom of the screen to add or remove photos from the selection that is already compiled by Facebook's algorithm. Users can also add text that appears along with photos and apply new sections to the review.

Last year, Facebook had compiled users photos from 2014 with a caption that read: "It's been a great year! Thanks for being a part of it." This year, users can change this tagline as well.

Lastly, to share the Year In Review, users need to click on the share button on the screen. The review can be viewed by friends with whom the post has been shared. However, even if users share their Year In Review publicly, they cannot share photos they are tagged in.

Last year, some users were unhappy with the Year In Review as some unsavoury photos were picked up by Facebook's algorithm that gathered the user's photos that had the most interaction.

"For those of us who lived through the death of loved ones, or spent extended time in the hospital, or were hit by divorce or losing a job or any one of a hundred crises, we might not want another look at this past year," Eric Meyer, whose six-year-old daughter died last year, said after his review showed a photo of his late daughter.