Miss Universe 2014
The Miss Universe 2014 contestants will compete in a preliminary competition where the top 15 contestants will be announced.MissUniverse/Facebook

The Miss Universe Organization is all set to hold the preliminary competition ahead of the 63rd annual Miss Universe pageant.

The preliminary contest will take place on 21 January at 7pm ET (12am GMT) in Doral, Miami.

All 88 contestants will compete in the swimwear and evening gown rounds during the preliminary contest.

Based on the contestants' performance in the preliminary round, judges will choose the top 15 contestants for the Miss Universe 2014 pageant's live finale that will take place on 25 January.

The current titleholder, Gabriela Isler of Venezuela, will host the preliminary competition along with television presenter Roxanne Vargas.

Watch live

The Miss Universe Preliminary Competition will not be aired live on TV but can be watched online.

The contest will be streamed live on the official website of Miss Universe Organization at 7pm ET (12am GMT) on Wednesday, 21 January.

Live feeds will also be available on the official Facebook and Twitter pages of the pageant.

Further, feeds of the preliminary competition will be uploaded on the pageant's YouTube channel as well.

Miss Universe 2014 pageant

Hosted by Today Show's anchor Natalie Morales and MSNBC's Thomas Roberts, the Miss Universe 2014 pageant will take place on 25 January. The annual gala will be aired live on NBC at 8pm ET on 25 January (1am GMT on 26 January).

The finale will have the top 15 contestants from the preliminary round compete in the interview round to be crowned Miss Universe 2014.

The three-hour event, which will simulcast in Spanish on Telemundo, will also see performances by Nick Jonas and Prince Royce.

This year, the winner will wear a new crown, created by Diamonds International Corporation (D.I.C).

Tickets are available for the preliminary competition, the finals and dress rehearsal.