MWC 2016: Sony press invite
Sony sends out invites for the press conference at MWC 2016Sony via Xperia Blog

Sony has just sent out invites for its annual press conference at the Mobile World Congress (MWC) 2016. The event is expected to feature some major product launches in the mobile tech industry including new smartphones, smartwatches and fitness trackers from Sony, Samsung and LG.

The forthcoming MWC event is expected to kick off on 22 February in Barcelona at 7.30am GMT or 8.30am CET or 11.30pm PST (21 February), according to Xperia Blog. There is still no clue on what kind of products Sony could be unveiling at the event.

Sony recently launched the Xperia Z5 in the US, which falls within the proposed six-month release schedule for the Xperia Z lineup. To be precise, the Z3 was released in September 2014, the Z3+ (dubbed Z4 in some regions) came out in April 2015 and the Z5 in September 2015.

Given the six-month release schedule for Xperia Z smartphones, it is unlikely that Sony would be launching another flagship phone at the MWC 2016. Instead, we might expect a new mid-range phone or some smartwatch or fitness tracker from Sony at the grand annual event in Barcelona.

Except for the event time and schedule, Sony has not divulged any other information in its press invite. However, Samsung and LG are speculated to announce their new flagship smartphones at the event.