Games Done Quick 2016
A recent Games Done Quick event.Games Done Quick

Gaming's premier speed-running charity fundraiser, Games Done Quick, returns this weekend (3 July) for its fifth annual summer event. Dozens of speed-running pros will show off their skills during the week-long live-stream.

Taking place from 3-10 July at the Hilton Minneapolis Downtown in Minneapolis, Minnesota, the event kicks off at 5.30pm BST (6.30pm CEST, 12.30pm EST, 9.30am PST) with a pre-show before the show's first game Super Mario Sunshine – to be played by Bounceyboy.

Ahamplan's The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds run follows, then runs of Demon's Souls, Bastion and Mighty Switch Force! HyperDrive Edition rounding out the first evening (UK time anyway).

The rest of week's streams are 24-hours long, and includes runs of games ranging from indie classics, to retro gems to the games you'd never thought you'd see streamed in 2016 (Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets?) and modern classics.

There will be runs of Ratchet & Clank, BioShock, Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, Braid, Resident Evil 2, Ducktales (woohoo), Deus Ex, The Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim, Pokémon Red, Super Mario Bros 3 – and those are just the ones that stood out to us.

Summer Games Done Quick will conclude with a three-hour run of Super Mario RPG at 1.47am British time.

A full schedule, which presents your local time, is available here. You can watch the event on the official Twitch stream, which we've embedded below. Select runs will also be uploaded to the official YouTube account and through other unofficial accounts.

Games Done Quick's first event took place in January 2010 and has grown with every event since. Over the years it has raised money primarily for Doctors Without Borders and the Prevent Cancer Foundation, with this event fundraising for the former.

Last year's Summer Games Done Quick raised $1.2 million (£902,000) and this year's will be hopefully of raising a similar amount. We wish them the very best!

For all the latest video game news follow us on Twitter @IBTGamesUK