Uncharted 4 mutliplayer open beta ps4
A screenshot from Uncharted 4's multiplayer.Sony

Uncharted 4: A Thief's End is getting an open multiplayer beta that will run this coming weekend (4-7 March) and is open to all PS4 users, regardless of whether they own a PlayStation Plus subscription, which is required for most multiplayer games.

The beta starts on Friday, 4 March at 5.00pm GMT (9am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm CET) and will end on Monday, 7 March at 7.59am GMT (2:59am ET, 8:59am CET and 11:59pm PT on Sunday evening). The news was confirmed on the PlayStation Blog.

"We need your help to do all we can to have a smooth launch of our online multiplayer mode," states Naughty Dog on the blog. "We will be hosting a multiplayer open weekend this weekend where the goal is to get as many people as possible playing in the Uncharted 4 multiplayer mode to test our networking, our matchmaking and more."

Players are able to download the beta client right now, ahead of the start of the test.

Uncharted 4's multiplayer will feature supernatural elements, adds sidekicks to help players can an advantage and includes a grappling hook for great manoeuvrability. A closed beta was available to owners of last year's Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection, and ran in December.

Uncharted 4: A Thief's End will be released exclusively on PS4 on 29 April in UK, on 26 April in North America and on 27 April in Europe.

For all the latest video game news follow us on Twitter @IBTGamesUK.