wwe royal rumble
Watch Royal Rumble 2016 onlineWWE

One of the biggest WWE events of the year — Royal Rumble 2016 — airs tonight (24 January) live on the WWE Network. This year, the explosive event will play out with a twist wherein the current champion Roman Reigns will have to put his title up in the Royal Rumble match.

Normally, the Royal Rumble match is used to determine the number one contender for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship at WrestleMania. However, Vince McMahon made the announcement on the 4 January episode of Monday Night Raw that Roman Reigns would have to defend the belt against 29 other superstars in the Rumble.

Soon after, Reigns was announced as the number one entrant for the match, meaning he will have to go the distance to secure his title. With several former Royal Rumble winners confirmed and expected to appear in the match, it remains to be seen if Reigns is able to hold on to his title.

Here is the match card for the WWE Royal Rumble 2016

  • Kickoff Match – Fatal Fourway Tag Team Match: The Dudley Boyz vs The Ascension vs Jack Swagger and Mark Henry vs Darren Young and Damien Sandow. (Note: The winners of the match will get spots in the Royal Rumble)
  • Tag Team Championship Match: The New Day (c) vs The Usos
  • Last Man Standing Match for the Intercontinental Championship: Dean Ambrose (c) vs Kevin Owens
  • United States Championship Match: Alberto Del Rio (c) vs Kalisto
  • Divas Championship Match: Charlotte (c) vs Becky Lynch
  • Royal Rumble Match for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship

When and where to watch Royal Rumble 2016

The Kickoff Show for WWE Royal Rumble 2016 will officially begin at 7pm EST/ 4pm PST. The main event will begin at 8pm EST/5pm PST.

You can watch the PPV (pay-per-view) event live stream online on the WWE Network, WWE.com, the official WWE App, YouTube and other platforms and devices by clicking here and here.