US Election: Paul Ryan says Donald Trump is a 'warm and genuine person'.IBTimes UK

A new week and a new set of primaries. The primary season is slowly coming to an end - but before it does, the remaining three presidential candidates are heading to Kentucky and Oregon on 17 May. The upcoming two primaries could place Democratic frontrunner Hillary Clinton within a 100 delegates of the party nomination, but could also show that the race against Bernie Sanders is far from over. On the Republican side, likely GOP nominee Donald Trump is running through the motions to secure the party nomination before the party convention in July.

Democrats

Clinton and Sanders will face off in Kentucky and Oregon for the chance of party nomination, at 55 delegates and 61 delegates respectively. The former secretary of state leads the Vermont senator by 767 delegates when superdelegates are counted. With 2,240 delegates, Clinton is just 143 delegates away from securing the Democratic nomination. Sanders, meanwhile, trails with 1,473 delegates.

In Kentucky, little polling has been done to reveal an accurate prediction of how the primary will go down for the last two Democratic candidates. However, Clinton is favoured to win after she took the state in 2008 against Barack Obama. A June 2015 poll, by Public Policy Polling, also placed Clinton ahead by 44 points, 56% to 12%. The candidates will split the Bluegrass State's 55 delegates through a proportional system.

Polls open at 6am EDT/11am BST and close at 6pm EDT/11pm BST. However, some polling locations in the Central Daylight Time (CDT) zone will open and close an hour later.

In Oregon, there has also been limited polling, but a recent poll by OPB and Fox 12 revealed Clinton leads Sanders by 15 points, 48% to 33%. Sanders has managed to attract large crowds in the Beaver State, but OPB reported that a closed primary system in the state could work in Clinton's favour. It should be noted that a record 84,800 voters registered as Democrats in time for the primary, which could give Sanders a boost. The two candidates will split the state's 61 delegates based on a proportional system. Polls will close at 8pm PDT/11pm EDT/4am BST.

Republicans

Presumptive GOP nominee will not have to head to Kentucky on 17 May, but will vie for Oregon's 28 delegates. Kentucky held its caucus on 5 March, with Trump winning and taking home 17 of the state's 46 delegates. The bombastic real estate mogul became the party's likely candidate after rivals Ted Cruz and John Kasich dropped out amid devastating losses in Indiana earlier in May.

Even with some competition, Trump leads polls in Oregon by double digit margins. In the OPB/Fox12 poll in early May, Trump was ahead of both Cruz and Kasich by 31 points, 45% to 14% each. Unlike most other states, the Beaver State will split the 28 GOP delegates on a proportional system. According to KVAL, 25 delegates will be allocated proportional to the vote and three superdelegates are expected to support the winner of the primary.

Democrats will then have until 7 June for their next set of primaries, while Republicans in Washington will head to the polls on 24 May.