Google IO 2016
Google IO 2016 kicks off with a keynote on 18 MayGoogle

Google IO, the company's annual developer conference that gives an insight into what's coming over the next 12 months, kicks off on Wednesday (18 May 2016). As always, the event begins with a keynote presentation that could reveal all manner of new products, software and technology that Google and its parent company Alphabet have been working on.

Chief executive Sundar Pichai and his team are expected to show off updates for Android, Chrome and maybe even some of the company's 'Moonshot' ideas, such as autonomous cars and Google Glass 2.

Where does the Google IO keynote take place?

This year, Google is heading to the Shoreline Amphitheatre, a 15-minute walk from the company's Mountain View headquarters in California.

Will the keynote be live streamed?

Yes, Google will live stream a video feed from the keynote on YouTube. We have embedded the video below, which is currently counting down to the start.

IO is often a long presentation, somewhere between two and three-and-a-half hours, so you'll want to plan your drinks, snacks and toilet breaks carefully for the rest of the day.

When does the IO keynote start?

IO 2016 is to start at 10am local time, which we have translated into various time zones below:

  • Honolulu: 7am HST
  • San Francisco: 10am PDT
  • Chicago: noon CDT
  • New York 1pm EDT
  • London: 6pm
  • Paris: 7pm
  • Amsterdam: 7pm
  • Moscow: 8pm
  • Mumbai: 10.30pm
  • Beijing: 1am (Thursday)
  • Seoul: 2am (Thursday)
  • Sydney: 3am (Thursday)