GTA Grand Theft Auto Online down
Rockstar's GTA online servers have gone completely darkRockstar Games

Update: Panic over, folks: Rockstar's scheduled maintenance is now complete and everything appears to be up and running again.

Grand Theft Auto V's online features have been switched off due to apparent service work. Game developer Rockstar announced on Twitter that GTA Online and Social Club will be down for five hours as it carries out "scheduled maintenance".

GTA Online down
Rockstar's online servers have gone dark across PC, PS4, PS3, Xbox One and Xbox 360IBTimes UK

GTA Online's servers went dark at 1am EDT/ 6am BST/ 5am UTC on Wednesday 27 April across PC, PS4, Xbox One, PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360. It's rare for such a complete outage to occur, particularly one that affects all systems. Rockstar has yet to provide details on exactly what type of work is being carried out, leaving us all a bit mystified.

According the Rockstar Support Twitter page, the last time GTA's servers underwent maintenance was August 2015. The company has advised players to keep an eye on its status page to be notified when its servers go back online.

For all the latest video game news follow us on Twitter @IBTGamesUK.