Xiaomi Global Launch livestream
Xiaomi will hold an English language press conference in India on 23 April to launch its plans for global expansionXiaomi

For the first time in its short history, Chinese internet company Xiaomi is holding the launch of a brand new smartphone somewhere other than its home country with a "global launch" of the new Mi phone taking place in New Dehli.

Xiaomi is one of the most talked about smartphone manufacturers in the world, rising to briefly become the world's third biggest smartphone maker at one point in 2014 - despite only selling its smartphones in a handful of Asian countries.

One of those countries is India and the along with China is the most important market for Xiaomi, so it is no surprise to see the company use this as the location for its latest product launch.

However, with Xiaomi calling this a "global Mi phone launch" in promotional material for the press conference, and the company's head of international development Hugo Barra set to deliver the keynote in English, there is some speculation that we could be about to hear more about Xiaomi's plans to launch its smartphones in markets like the US and UK.

Xiaomi has revealed already it plans to launch its online Mi store in the US and UK this year but only selling its accessories and not its phones. Could that be about to change on Thursday?

Here are all the details of how to follow the event online and what to expect to be unveiled:


What time and where is the "i is Coming" event taking place?


It is somewhat ironic (and possibly a little in-joke from Xiaomi) that the company which has been consistently seen as copying Apple is holding its "i is Coming" event on Thursday, 23 April at the Siri Fort auditorium in New Delhi.

The event will kick off at 4pm local time, with times around the world as follows:

  • San Francisco - 3.30am
  • New York - 6.30am
  • London - 11.30am
  • Paris - 12.30pm
  • Amsterdam - 12.30pm
  • Johannesburg – 1.30pm
  • New Delhi - 4pm
  • Bangkok - 5.30pm
  • Beijing - 6.30pm
  • Hong Kong - 6.30pm
  • Seoul - 7.30pm
  • Sydney - 9.30pm


How can I watch the livestream online?


Xiaomi will be hosting a live video stream of the press conference on its own events page from 4pm local time. You will also be able to follow the announcements on the company's Facebook India page, as well as through its Indian Mi Twitter account via the hashtag #MiLaunch2015.


What can we expect to be launched?


It is almost guaranteed that Xiaomi will launch a version of its flagship Mi 4 smartphone, set to be called the Mi 4i and will feature lower specs as well as a lower price.

Details of the Mi 4i (which is codenamed Ferrari) has been leaked multiple times in recent weeks with the phone expected to feature a 4.9in screen with an HD resolution (rather than the 5in Full HD resolution of the Mi 4).

The phone is also likely to be manufactured of less premium materials with a polycarbonate shell (as seen in the Lumia range of smartphones) likely to feature.

It is also likely to feature a decent 12 megapixel camera, 2GB of RAM, a relatively powerful 64-bit octa-core Snapdragon 615 chip and it also set to feature the latest MIUI software.

However the most interesting aspect of the new phone will be how much it cost, with a recent report suggesting it will cost between Rs 12,500 - Rs 14,500 (£130 - £155) which would make it very appealing in developing markets like India.

The bigger question is whether or not Xiaomi will announce any details of a wider global launch. IBTimes UK will be following all the events live and reporting on what is announced.