How to turn off Facebook's auto-tagging feature
Facebook auto-tagging can be annoying for those desiring privacyGetty Images

Facebook's auto-tagging feature has come under the spotlight as it uses facial recognition software to automatically tag users' friends on all photos uploaded onto the social media network. The tech giant was under fire for its policy on storing biometric data that to provide tagging suggestion.

However, recently a California court ruled that users can complaint against the Menlo Park-headquartered company for storing biometric data, which could have far reaching consequences on the social media giant.

The feature allows friends to tag users in photos and check them into places, even if they are not present. Fortunately, there is a way by which the feature can be shut off.

Follow the steps below to turn off the auto tagging feature:

1. Sign into your account and go to settings by clicking the drop down menu on the top right corner of the page.

How to turn off Facebook's auto-tagging feature
Open up settingsIBTimes UK

2. Click on the Timeline and Tagging option from the menu on the left.

How to turn off Facebook's auto-tagging feature
Choose Timeline and TaggingIBTimes UK

3. Scroll down to the third and last section within the category about tag suggestions and who can see it.

How to turn off Facebook's auto-tagging feature
Scroll down to the option about who can see tag suggestionsIBTimes UK

4. Click on the edit button.

How to turn off Facebook's auto-tagging feature
Choose no oneIBTimes UK

5. You will notice a drop down menu which provides options on who can see tag suggestions. Click on "No one".

You will now be able to control where your name appears on the social media platform.