Shahid Afridi
Shahid Afridi is set to retire post the T20 World Cup in IndiaGetty

Coach: Waqar Younis

ICC World Ranking: 7

Squad: Shahid Afridi (C), Ahmed Shehzad, Anwar Ali, Imad Wasim, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Sami, Sarfraz Ahmed (WK), Sharjeel Khan, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Wahab Riaz.

Fixtures

Match 1: Pakistan vs TBD (Qualifier 1A), Group 2

Date and Time: 16 March – 9.30am GMT/3pm IST

Venue: Eden Gardens, Kolkata

Match 2: India vs Pakistan, Group 2

Date and Time: 19 March – 2pm GMT/7.30pm IST

Venue: Eden Gardens, Kolkata

Match 3: New Zealand vs Pakistan, Group 2

Date and Time: 22 March – 2pm GMT/7.30pm IST

Venue: Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali, Chandigarh

Match 4: Australia vs Pakistan, Group 2

Date and Time: 25 March – 9.30am GMT/3pm IST

Venue: Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali, Chandigarh

Overview: The most unpredictable side in cricket, it is difficult to predict which Pakistan side will turn up on a given day. They have a history of oscillating between brilliance and plain ordinary in a space of a day.

Their recent form in the T20 format has been disappointing to say the least, their exit at the group stages of the Asia Cup T20 highlighted the difference in quality as compared to top sides. They do possess match-winners in the like of Mohammad Amir, Shahid Afrid, Mohammad Hafeez and Wahab Riaz, who are all capable of turning the tide on a given day.

The familiarity of playing in sub-continent conditions is a big plus, while the men in green tend to do well in global competitions. If their top players fire, they could be a dangerous proposition to any team.

Key player

Shahid Afridi: The Player of the Series in the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007 and The Player of the Match in the final of the 2009 edition, which Pakistan won, Afridi is the kind of player who is tailor-made for the T20 format.

However, the captain of the side has been criticised from various quarters regarding his form and if he actually deserves a place in the side. Nonetheless, there is no doubting his ability, and the fact that he is one of the most destructive players in the world.

Moreover, with the player set to retire from International cricket post the 2016 T20 World Cup, Pakistan will be looking to give him a proper farewell.

World Cup history: Pakistan won the World T20 title in 2009 and also played in the final against India in the inaugural series in 2007.

Prediction: Pakistan are drawn in Group 2 along with New Zealand, India, Australia and the winner of the Group A qualifier. Their familiarity with conditions give them an added advantage, however, they would have to play out of their skin to qualify for the knock-out stages. We predict that Shahid Afridi and company might just fall short in the group stages.