New Year's Eve 2016
New Year's Eve celebration in NYCGetty Images

The New Year's Eve Times Square Ball Drop in New York City is one of the biggest and most iconic NYE celebrations in the world and revellers worldwide can become a part of this legendary tradition this year as the event gets broadcast live online.

The New Year's Eve 2015 live stream starts at 3pm EST (8pm GMT) but the ball raising kicks off the official start of the broadcast at 6pm EST (11pm GMT). You can check out the complete event schedule here.

Where to watch the event live online

Times Square NYC brings you the webcast coverage of the festivities leading up to the Ball Drop at midnight, including backstage access, behind-the-scenes stories and interviews with revellers, performers and other celebrities. You can watch the live stream below:

ABC will be hosting Dick Clark's New Year's Rockin' Eve with hosts Ryan Seacrest and Jenny McCarthy, which kicks off on 31 December at 8pm ET. The broadcast will feature performances by Iggy Azalea, One Direction, Nick Jonas, Taylor Swift, Magic!, Florida Georgia Line, Idina Menzel and Elton John, among a host of other artists. Menzel will perform at 8.26pm EST, Magic! at 9.32pm EST, Florida Georgia Line at 10.37pm EST and Swift at 11.39pm EST.

You can click here to watch the ABC event live online.

NBC will also air their version of the NYE celebration with New Year's Eve with Carson Daly beginning at 10pm EST. Daly will be leading the festivities for NBC for the eleventh year, and he will be joined by Chrissy Teigen, Terry Crews, and Ken Marino. Artists performing include Tony Bennett, Lady Gaga, Seth MacFarlane, Blake Shelton, Gwen Stefani and Pharrell Williams.

Click here to watch the NBC broadcast live online.

Watch it live on your phone

The Times Square Ball App (Google Play and iTunes) and the Times Square Crossroads App (Google Play and iTunes) will also host the New Year's Eve live stream.