Nico Rosberg
Nico Rosberg will be keen to celebrate signing a new deal by capturing pole position on SaturdayGetty

Nico Rosberg topped the time sheets in the second practice session (FP2) at the Hungaroring while teammate Lewis Hamilton crashed out managing just four laps in the entire session.

Where to Watch Live

The third free practice session begins on Saturday (23 July) at 10am BST, while the qualifying session starts at 1pm BST. Sky Sports F1 and Sky Sports F1 HD will provide live coverage of both events in the UK.

Real-time internet updates are available on the Live Timing section of the sport's official website.


Nico Rosberg improved his time from FP1 to set the fastest time of the weekend, which was over half a second faster than second placed Daniel Ricciardo. Only Sebastian Vettel and his former teammate were able to set times within a second of the Mercedes.

Lewis Hamilton, meanwhile, completed just four laps after he caught the curb on the way into Turn 11, which saw him spin and crash into the barriers that brought an end to his session. Max Verstappen was in fourth place ahead of the Briton in fifth but was some way off his Red Bull teammate.

Kimi Raikkonen completed 46 laps but had to settle for sixth place, but the more worrying aspect will be that he was over a second slower than Ricciardo in the Red Bull, who are likely to be their challengers for a place on the podium on Sunday as the Mercedes' look to be in a league of their own.

The Ferrari team, however, have shown in recent races that they can up their pace on Saturday, and will be hoping to find a better rhythm on a track that benefits downforce rather than engine power.

The McLaren's showed impressive pace on Friday by finishing in seventh and eighth places ahead of the Force India duo of Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez, who rounded out the top ten.

Top 10 results of the second practice session from Hungaroring:

1 NICO ROSBERG 1:20.435
2 DANIEL RICCIARDO 1:21.030 +0.595s
3 SEBASTIAN VETTEL 1:21.348 +0.913s
4 MAX VERSTAPPEN 1:21.770 +1.335s
5 LEWIS HAMILTON 1:21.960 +1.525s
6 KIMI RÄIKKÖNEN 1:22.058 +1.623s
7 FERNANDO ALONSO 1:22.328 +1.893s
8 JENSON BUTTON 1:22.387 +1.952s
9 NICO HULKENBERG 1:22.449 +2.014s
10 SERGIO PEREZ 1:22.653 +2.218s