Former rugby league star Kyle Eastmond has been named in England's 33-man elite player squad for the first half of the season, but flanker James Haskell has been left out.

There are six new faces in total selected by Stuart Lancaster, with forwards Dave Attwood, Matt Kvesic and Billy Vunipola, plus wingers Marland Yarde and Christian Wade joining Eastmond in the squad.

Haskell, who has 47 caps for England, has been demoted to the Saxons squad along with Jonathon Joseph and David Strettle.

Bath centre Eastmond will hope to have further opportunities to impress Lancaster after making his debut for England against Argentina back in June, marking the occasions with his first try.

Saracens number 8 Vunipola, Gloucester flanker Kvesic, and wingers Yarde and Wade also earned their first caps on the tour of Argentina.

Wade scored 18 tries in 26 appearances for Gloucester last season and was called up to the Lions squad earlier this summer, while Yarde scored twice on his England debut in the 51-26 victory over the Pumas.

Christian Wade and Marland Yarde brought their outstanding Premiership form to the tour," said Lancaster. "Kyle Eastmond showed the potential he has and by including him in the squad we get a chance to work with him some more as we build towards the autumn internationals.

"Up front David Attwood adds a physical presence to the second row and in Matt Kvesic and Billy Vunipola we have young back row players who will challenge our more established back row players hard."

Chris Ashton also retains his place in the elite squad despite his lack of form, while Dylan Hartley is also named in the squad despite the hooker receiving an 11-week ban for a red card in last season's Premiership final.

England Senior EPS

Forwards: D Attwood (Bath), D Cole (Leicester), A Corbisiero (Northampton), T Croft (Leicester), D Hartley (Northampton), M Kvesic (Gloucester), J Launchbury (Wasps), C Lawes (Northampton), J Marler (Harlequins), B Morgan (Gloucester), G Parling (Leicester), C Robshaw (Harlequins), B Vunipola, M Vunipola (both Saracens), D Wilson (Bath), T Wood (Northampton), T Youngs (Leicester).

Backs: C Ashton, B Barritt (both Saracens), M Brown (Harlequins), F Burns (Gloucester), D Care (Harlequins), L Dickson (Northampton), K Eastmond (Bath), O Farrell (Saracens), T Flood (Leicester), B Foden (Northampton), A Goode (Saracens), M Tuilagi (Leicester), B Twelvetrees (Gloucester), C Wade (Wasps), M Yarde (London Irish), B Youngs (Leicester).