Australia take on New Zealand in their opening encounter in Group A on Saturday (6 August).

Where to watch live

The match starts at 5.30pm BST. The hockey matches of the Rio 2016 Olympics will be telecasted live on BBC One, BBC Four and Red Button in the United Kingdom. In addition to this, there will be up to 24 HD video streams to follow the event on desktop, mobile and tablet.

Below is a list of all Olympics 2016 Hockey broadcasters from across the world.


The current Champions Trophy holders, Australia come into Rio 2016 Olympics as the number one ranked side and favourites to win the tournament. Head coach Graham Reid, has a plethora of options in the squad, with the team consisting of 10 players who have featured in the Olympics in the past.

Led by defender Mark Knowles, the Australian team will look to win their first gold medal since Athens in 2004. The 2014 World Cup winners have won a medal at every tournament since 1992. They were disappointed to win the bronze at the last Olympics.

The upcoming Rio Olympics 2016 would be an opportunity for the world champions to win what will be only their second gold medal in their history.

australia hockey team
Australia are the number one ranked side in the worldGetty

The 1976 Olympic champions New Zealand, come into the tournament ranked number eight in the world. Coached by former Australian International Colin Batch, the Kiwis are blessed with supreme fitness levels and incredible motivation levels.

Four players, including skipper Simon Child, Ryan Archibald, Shea McAleese and Bradley Shaw will be playing at their third Olympic Games and would be expected to perform in every game. Despite the levels of fitness and motivation skills, the kiwis are not expected to go too far in the competition and will most unlikely to progress past the group stage.

Team news


Goalkeepers: Andrew Charter, Tyler Lovell

Defenders: Chris Ciriello, Mark Knowles, Tim Deavin, Fergus Kavanagh, Matthew Swann, Matthew Dawson, Josh Beltz, Andrew Philpott

Midfielders: Simon Orchard, Eddie Ockenden, Tristan White, Aran Zalewski, Kiel Brown

Forwards: Jamie Dwyer, Glenn Turner, Jake Whetton, Matt Gohdes, Kieran Govers, Jeremy Hayward, Trent Mitton, Tom Craig, Flynn Ogilvie, Dylan Wotherspoon, Blake Govers

New Zealand

Goalkeepers: Devon Manchester, Kyle Pontifex

Defenders: Cory Bennett, Nick Haig, Kane Russell, Alex Shaw, Bradley Shaw, Blair Tarrant

Midfielders: Ryan Archibald, Shea McAleese, George Muir, Arun Panchia, Nick Ross, Nic Woods

Forwards: Marcus Child, Simon Child, James Coughlan, Blair Hilton, Hugo Inglis, Stephen Jenness, Shay Neal, Dominic Newman, Jared Panchia, Jacob Smith, Nick Wilson.

Below is a list of TV channels that would air the game around the world:

Country/Region Broadcaster
United Kingdom BBC
Argentina America Movil, DirecTV, ESPN, Fox Sports
Australia 7mate
Austria ZDF
Brazil Fox Sports Brazil
Chile ESPN, Fox Sports
Colombia ESPN, Fox Sports
Costa Rica ESPN
France France 4, Foot+
Germany ZDF
Honduras Claro Sports
Hong Kong TVB Sport
Ireland LFC TV
Ireland RTE
India Star Sports
Middle East beIN Sports Arabia
Netherlands NOS
New Zealand Sky Television
Portugal Sport TV3
Spain TVE La 1, TDP
United States USA Network, NBC Sports