Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma scored two consecutive centuries in the first two ODIs against Australia Getty

Australia will take on India in the third One Day International (ODIs) at Melbourne Cricket Ground on 17 January.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 3.20am GMT. Live TV coverage is available on Sky Sports 3 and Sky Sports 3 HD. Click here for the live streaming link.


India are one loss away from a series defeat in a five-match ODI series as MS Dhoni's side have lost the first two matches to Australia. Despite scoring 300-plus runs, the former World Champions were unable to restrict the hosts from chasing the target.

Rohit Sharma has managed two consecutive centuries and the right-handed opening batsman will be looking for a third century in a row. However, the most important thing for his side is to win the upcoming fixture in order to keep their hope of winning the series alive.

George Bailey
George Bailey celebrates with Maxwell after sealing a victory in the second ODI against India Getty

Shikhar Dhawan has struggled in both the matches and the pressure will be high on him to perform. In the bowling division, Dhoni dropped Bhuvneshwar Kumar and replaced him with Ishant Sharma.

Kumar could be recalled into the side in place of Umesh Yadav, after the latter's under par performance in the second ODI. India's bowling division has been disappointing them and it will be a task for the bowlers and Dhoni to make sure they get things right in the third ODI.

For Australia, Shaun Marsh is likely to retain his place in the absence of David Warner. Should he continue to impress in the third match, it will give the selectors a tough time while choosing their openers once Warner returns for the fourth ODI.


Australia to win

Betting Odds (betfair)

  • Australia to win: 4/11
  • India to win: 11/5

Team News


Possible XI: Shaun Marsh, Aaron Finch, Steven Smith (c), George Bailey, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade (wk), James Faulkner, John Hastings, Scott Boland, Josh Hazlewood, Joel Paris


Possible XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Barinder Sran