angelo mathews
Sri Lanka skipper Angelo Mathews struggled both in the batting and captaincy departments in the test series against England Getty

Ireland host Sri Lanka in the first game of the two-match series at The Village, Dublin on 16 June (Thursday).

Where to watch live

Match starts at 9.45am BST/3.15pm IST. Live coverage of the game is available on Setanta Sports Ireland in the UK.


Ireland host a big international team for the first time in two years on 16 June when they take on Sri Lanka. Ironically, the last time an international team was on their shores it was the islanders who played a two-match series at Dublin in 2014.

Since then, Irish cricket has undergone a transformation with the team no longer considered as minnows. On their day they are capable of beating any team regardless of the conditions. Ireland could have up to eight players from the 2014 series with fast bowler Boyd Rankin the key considering there will be some purchase for the quick bowlers.

The Irish will be without leading batsman and wicket-keeper Niall O'Brien who tore a calf muscle in a county game for Leicestershire last week. The keeper is expected to be out of action for a minimum of six weeks, with John Anderson called up in his place. Other than that the Irish have a full squad to choose from.

Sri Lanka will be hoping that their disappointing test form does not spill over to the 50-over format following their disastrous 2-0 defeat at the hands of England. The Lankans have made seven changes to their side in the hope that new faces will put up some fight. The most glaring omission is of all-rounder Milinda Siriwardana who made a bright start to his career against New Zealand last year, finishing as the highest scorer among the batsmen and the second most successful bowler.

The islanders have also recalled all-rounder Farveez Maharoof who last played for them in 2012. Skipper Angelo Mathews and his men will go into this game as the favourites.


Sri Lanka to win

Betting odds (ladbrokes)

  • Ireland to win: 7/4
  • Sri Lanka to win: 4/9

Team news


Squad: William Porterfield (c), John Anderson, George Dockrell, Ed Joyce, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O'Brien, Stuart Poytner (wk), Boyd Rankin, Max Sorenson, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson.

Sri Lanka

Squad: Angelo Mathews (c), Dushmantha Chameera, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Shaminda Eranga, Nuwan Pradeep, Danushka Gunathilaka, Suraj Randiv, Dimuth Karunaratne, Suranga Lakmal, Farveez Maharoof, Kusal Mendis, Dilruwan Perera, Upul Tharanga, Lahiru Thirimanne.