Pieter Seelaar
Pieter Seelaar [Reuters]

Netherlands take on Zimbabwe in their second Group B game in the ongoing 2014 T20 World Cup at the Sylhet Stadium, Bangladesh, on Wednesday.

Where to Watch Live

The game starts at 9:30pm GMT. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 2 - Red Button. Follow live text updates of the game on ESPNCricinfo.


Netherlands kick-started their World T20 campaign with a win against United Arab Emirates (UAE) in their first Group B fixture on Monday after successfully chasing the target of 152 runs set by their opponents.

After winning the toss, UAE elected to bat and managed to score 151 runs before they lost all their wickets. Michael Swart grabbed the first wicket in the first over before Timm van der Gugten got into the act in the next.

Tom Cooper then struck twice in the 10<sup>th over and was responsible for Shadeep Silva's (3) dismissal via a run out. Van Der Gugten ended the night with two wickets but Ahsan Malik was Netherlands' highest-wicket-taker nabbing three UAE wickets towards the end of the opening innings.

Peter Borren's side got off to a bright start and cruised to 69 runs in the seventh over. But, they lost their first wicket as Swart's (26) attempted pull, landed straight into the hands of Amjad Javed.

Their stellar performer Stephan Myburgh (55) too failed to hold his ground as rival wicketkeeper Swapnil Patil hit the stumps before the opener could reach the crease.

Wesley Barresi (24) walked back to the pavilion after being bowled by Silva. Tom (34) stood firm on the pitch and lasted alongside Ben Cooper (6) to smash the winning runs in the 19<sup>th over after Borren contributed only three runs to the total.

Meanwhile, Zimbabwe suffered a defeat in the opening clash in Group B as they failed to prevent Ireland from overtaking their score of 163 runs.

Hamilton Masakadza and Sikandar Raza (10) opened the innings but their partnership lasted only for 14 runs as Alex Cusack dismissed the latter. Brendan Taylor then combined with the former to take his side beyond the 50-run mark.

However, the wickets kept going at regular intervals with Masakadza (21) being the second casualty in the seventh over, who was then followed by Sean Williams (16), after 15 deliveries.

Vusi Sibanda (16) was Zimbabwe's fourth wicket and Taylor (59) was the fifth and their last of the lot.

Elton Chigumbura (22) and Timycen Maruma (13) remained as they helped their team post 163 runs on the scoreboard.

However, Taylor's side could not stop the Irish from successfully achieving the target as William Porterfield's side achieved the winning knock in the last delivery of the innings having lost seven wickets in the process.

Brendan Taylor
Brendan Taylor [Reuters] [Reuters]

Tinashe Panyangara registered a four-wicket haul while Tendai Chatara and Williams took one wicket each. The latter was also quick to react to dismiss Max Sorensen (0) via a run out in the last over.

Netherlands currently stand first in Group B with 2 points while Zimbabwe are third with zero. A win for Borren's side will put them one-step closer to qualification for the Super-10 round of the T20 World Cup while Taylor's side hope to remain in contention for achieving progress.

Team News


Probable Lineup: Stephan Myburgh, Michael Swart, Wesley Barresi (wk), Tom Cooper, Peter Borren (c), Ben Cooper, Logan van Beek, Mudassar Bukhari, Timm van der Gugten, Pieter Seelaar, Ahsan Malik


Probable Lineup: Hamilton Masakadza, Sikandar Raza, Brendan Taylor (c & wk), Vusi Sibanda, Sean Williams, Elton Chigumbura, Timycen Maruma, Prosper Utseya, Tinashe Panyangara, Tendai Chatara, Tafadzwa Kamungozi