faf du plessis
Faf du Plessis's knock of 111 helped the Proteas beat Australia by 142 runs in the second ODI on 2 October Getty

South Africa will host Australia in the third One Day International (ODI) at Kingsmead in Durban on 5 October (Wednesday). The hosts lead the five-match ODI series 2-0.

Where to watch live

The match starts at 12.30pm BST. Live TV coverage is available on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD. Click here for the live streaming link.


South Africa continued their brilliant beginning to the home summer winning the second consecutive game against world champions Australia on 2 October. Skipper Faf du Plessis was the star for the hosts, scoring 111 runs off just 93 balls, including 13 hits to the fence.

This was du Plessis sixth ODI hundred, which helped his team post 361 for six off their 50 overs. The bowlers then played their part bowling the visitors to just 219 runs to win by a huge margin of 142 runs.

With no injury worries at present, the hosts are most likely to go in with the same XI that played on Wednesday.

Their opponents Australia have been outplayed in all departments so far and it showed on Wednesday when they struggled with both bat and ball. John Hastings, David Warner and Travis Head were the only players to show some fight, which would be a concern for the team management going into the third ODI.

The Australians are without key bowlers which is affecting their performances but the same cannot be said about the batting with all their big stars currently playing in South Africa.

Seamers Daniel Worrall and Scott Boland are expected to replace Joe Mennie and Chris Tremain who had horror debuts on Sunday.


South Africa to win

Betting odds (ladbrokes)

  • South Africa to win: 4/6
  • Australia to win: 6/5

Team news

South Africa

Possible XI: Quinton de Kock (wk), Rilee Rossouw, Faf du Plessis (c), JP Duminy, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada.


Possible XI: David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steve Smith (c), George Bailey, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade (wk), John Hastings, Adam Zampa, Scott Boland, Daniel Worrall.