The first edition of the Pro Kabaddi League (PKL), started on 26 July with eight franchises in the fray. The tournament, which is modelled after the hugely successful Indian Premier League (IPL), ends on 31 August.

Where to Watch Live

There will be two matches from 26 July to 31 August, with a few days of rest in between. The first match starts at 3:30pm BST. Click here for the live streaming link. The second match starts at 4:30pm BST.

Here isall you need to know about the Kabaddi tournament current ongoing in India, from IBTimes UK.


Kabaddi is a contact sport featuring two teams of seven players. It is played on a 1,400 sq foot area divided into two halves: one for each team. A match lasts 40 minutes.

Each team sends into the other's half a raider, who is expected to cross a line, touch as many opponents as they can and return.

The defenders have to stop the raider from returning, by pinning him down


Eight franchises are competing in the first edition of the Pro Kabaddi League. These are Bengal Warriors, Bengaluru Bulls, Dabang Delhi, Jaipur Pink Panthers, Patna Pirates, Puneri Paltan, Telugu Titans and U Mumba.


Each game will be played for 40 minutes, divided into two halves of 20 minutes each with a five minute interval. The teams will swap courts during halftime, resuming the match with the same number of players at the end of the half-time.


A raider is one who enters the opponents' half during the raid. He needs to chant "Kabaddi-kabaddi" loudly and without break during the raid.


Each team scores one point for every opponent out (while raiding) or pulled out (while defending). If the side manages to get all the opponents out, it is called All Out. When there is an All Out, the team get two extra points.

If the raider is caught when there are only 3 defenders or fewer, the defending team gets 2 points instead of 1. The additional point is known as the 'Super Catch' point.

The team which has maximum points at the end of the match will be declared winner. A winning team will take two points, while the losing teams will not be awarded any point.

After the end of the group stage matches, the top four teams will make it to the semi-finals of the Pro Kabaddi League.

Number of Players

Each team consists of a minimum of 10 and a maximum of 12 players. At the start of each match, only seven players are allowed to take on the court, while the remaining players will be on the bench.

A team can do unlimited substitutions with the permission of the referee and substituted players can be re-substituted. However, a player suspended will be out of the match and will not be allowed to take the court again. During the time of the substitution, the match clock will be stopped.