USA's Cam Fowler, Patrick Kane and Kevin Shattenkirk (L-R) wait to congratulate Canada. [Retuers]

Losing semi-finalists USA and Finland will now contest for the bronze medal on the penultimate day of the Sochi Winter Olympics 2014 at the Bolshoy Ice Dome on Saturday.

Where to Watch

The face-off is set to begin at 3:00pm GMT. Follow the live updates of the game on BBC's official website. Catch the replay of the game on BBC Red Button 2 at7:00pm GMT.


The US were denied a place in the final after suffering a 1-0 defeat to reigning champions Canada in the semi-finals. Jamie Benn's solitary goal early in the second period was enough to condemn Dan Bylsma's side fight for the third place in the competition.

Meanwhile, Finland suffered a narrow 2-1 defeat at the hands of the USA in the other semi-final. Erkka Westerlund's side took the lead in the second period with Olli Jokinen netting the goal. But their lead lasted only for five minutes as Loui Eriksson scored the equaliser. Five minutes later, Erik Karlsson managed to put the puck past Karl Lehtonen to ensure the Swedes' stand a chance to win the gold medal at Sochi.

The USA and Finland met in the semi-finals of the Vancouver Winter Olympics in 2010 with the North Americans emerging victorious 6-1 on that occasion.

Team Form


  • In Sochi 2014 (Last Five, most recent first): L W W W W
  • Last Result: USA 0-1 Canada


  • In Sochi 2014 (Last Five, most recent first): L W L W W
  • Last Result: Sweden 2-1 Finland

Team News

Finland's Kari Lehtonen (L) and Teemu Selanne express their disappointment following defeat to Sweden. [Reuters]


Goaltenders: Jonathan Quick; Ryan Miller

Defenders: Ryan Suter (+A), Ryan McDonagh; Paul Martin, Brooks Orpik; Cam Fowler, Kevin Shattenkirk; John Carlson

Forwards: Zach Parise (+C), Ryan Kesler, Patrick Kane; Joe Pavelski, James van Riemsdyk, Phil Kessel; Dustin Brown (+A), Ryan Callahan, David Backes; Paul Stastny, Blake Wheeler, Max Pacioretty, T.J. Oshie


Goaltenders: Tukka Rask; Kari Lehtonen

Defenders: Kimmo Timonen (+A), Sami Vatanen; Olli Maatta, Sami Salo; Sami Lepisto, Juuso Hietanen; Lasse Kukkonen, Ossi Vaananen

Forwards: Teemu Selanne (+C), Jarkko Immonen, Mikael Granlund; Olli Jokinen, Tuomo Ruutu, Jussi Jokinen; Petri Kontiola, Lauri Korpikoski, Juhamatti Aaltonen; Jori Lehtera, Antti Pihlstrom, Leo Komaraov (+A)