Steven Smith
Steven Smith's 149 helped Australia defeat India in the first ODI Getty

Australia will take on India in the second One Day International (ODIs) at Brisbane Cricket Ground, Woolloongabba, Brisbane on 15 January.

Where to watch Live

Match starts at 3.20am GMT. Live TV coverage is available on Sky Sports 1 and Sky Sports 1 HD. Click here for the live streaming link.


After losing early wickets, Australia bounced back in the first ODI to seal a five-wicket victory with four balls to spare as they chased a target of 310 runs. The two opening batsmen, Aaron Smith and David Warner were dismissed for 8 and 5 respectively by debutante Barinder Sran.

It was the 242-run partnership between skipper Steven Smith (149) and George Bailey (112) that helped the hosts achieve the target. Both batsmen went on to score a century as Australia managed a win in the first ODI.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma was the star player for India as he remained unbeaten until the end, scoring 171 runs Getty

Australia will be without David Warner for the second and third ODI as the left-handed opening batsman will be on paternity leave. Usman Khawaja has been drafted into the squad in place of Warner for the two matches.

Rohit Sharma was the star batsman for India as his unbeaten 171 helped his team post a total of 309 runs. He was well supported by Virat Kohli, who fell nine runs short of his century in the first ODI.

MS Dhoni will be hoping his batsmen can fire in the second ODI as the fixture is expected to be a high scoring match. It is unlikely that bowlers will find any joy and it will be down to the batting lineup of both the teams to help their side win the match.


India to win

Betting Odds (betfair)

  • Australia to win: 4/11
  • India to win: 11/5

Team News


Possible XI: Shaun Marsh, Aaron Finch, Steven Smith (c), George Bailey, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade (wk), James Faulkner, John Hastings, Scott Boland, Josh Hazlewood, Joel Paris


Possible XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Barinder Sran