Australia vs India
Australia host India in the fifth ODI in Sydney

Australia host India in the fifth and final one-day international at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Saturday, 22 January. The hosts are leading the five-match series 4-0 and will be looking to complete a whitewash over Mahendra Singh Dhoni's men ahead of the World T20 scheduled in India in March.

Where to Watch Live

Match starts at 3.20am GMT. Live TV coverage is available on Sky Sports 3 and Sky Sports 3 HD. Click here for the live streaming link.


Australia will be looking to rotate the squad and give the lesser known players a chance to prove themselves against India in a dead rubber. The hosts come into the fixture having successfully defended a total for the first time in the tournament, after previously chasing down each of the three 300-plus totals put up by the visitors. Both teams were unable to train before the game owing to rain and there is a high possibility of it playing spoilsport. That might unwittingly save India the blushes after a disappointing performance by MS Dhoni's men.

In the last game, a partnership of 187 runs at the top propelled Australia to 348 runs, with David Warner scoring 93 and Aaron Finch completing a century, before being caught out by Ishant Sharma. The likes of Glenn Maxwell and Steven Smith played a quickfire innings in the middle order pushing the score above the 300 mark.

In reply, India started the innings very brightly, with Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan putting up a 65-run partnership, before Sharma was dismissed. Virat Kohli came in next and both him and Dhawan built a 212-run partnership to take India to 276 runs for the loss of only a wicket.

However, carnage ensued after the dismissal of Dhawan and India, who were in the driver's seat, threw away the advantage, with Dhoni the first to go for a duck. The rest of the batsmen, barring Ravindra Jadeja, fell without getting into double digits, letting the Aussies win their fourth consecutive game in the series.

Betting Odds (Bet365)

  • Australia Win: 2/5
  • India Win: 2


Australia to Win

Team News


Possible XI: David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steven Smith (c), George Bailey, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade (wk), James Faulkner, John Hastings, Scott Boland, Josh Hazlewood, Joel Paris


Possible XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Barinder Sran