South Africa will take on West Indies in a Group B fixture of the ICC Champions Trophy in Cardiff on Friday. The two teams have each beaten Pakistan and lost to India.

The Proteas registered their first win of the competition after defeating Pakistan by 67 runs, who were beaten by West Indies in their first game. The winner of this game will join MS Dhoni's side in the semi final.

Miller-De Villiers

Where to Watch Live

Play starts at 10.30am BST. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 1 and Sky Sports 1 HD. Follow the match live, via text updates, on ESPN Cricinfo.


South Africa elected to bat first against Pakistan and posted a total of 234 for the loss of nine wickets. The Proteas' opener, Hashim Amla, (81) was the star for his side with the bat while Faf du Plessis (28), skipper AB de Villiers (31) and Jean-Paul Duminy (24) chipped in from the middle. This lower order did not manage to contribute with the bat as they lost four wickets for just 39 runs.

Pakistan, in reply, suffered a quick collapse at the top as they lost Imran Farhat (2), Mohammad Hafeez (7) and Shoaib Malik (8) even before the team reached a total of 50. Nasir Jamshed (42) and Misbah-ul-Haq (55) were the only two to impress with the bat as they ended their innings for 167. Ryan McLaren was the star for South Africa, picking four wickets. Chris Morris and Lonwabo Tsotsobe chipped in with two wickets each.

Meanwhile, West Indies enter this crunch game after failing to defeat India earlier this week. Dwayne Bravo's side lost to the world champions by eight wickets. West Indies managed to post a total of 233, with Johnson Charles (60) and Darren Sammy (56) the two star batsmen. However, the total was comfortably chased down by India, as opener Shikhar Dhawan remained unbeaten after scoring his second century of the competition. The left-hander was accompanied by Rohit Sharma (52) and Dinesh Karthik (51).

West Indies

Team Form

  • South Africa (most recent first): W L W W L
  • West Indies (most recent first): L W W L W

Team News

South Africa will be without pacer Morne Morkel, while Dale Steyn could return. The right arm fast bowler is likely to replace Morris in the squad and will lead the pace attack with McLaren and Tsotsobe. No changes are expected in the Proteas batting division.

Probable Line-Up: Colin Ingram, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, Jean-Paul Duminy, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Dale Steyn, Robin Peterson, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Aaron Phangiso

West Indies are unlikely to make any changes either. Ravi Rampaul and Kemar Roach will lead the side's pace attack.

Probable Line-Up: Chris Gayle, Johnson Charles, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy, Sunil Narine, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach