sydney thunder
Sydney Thunder are the defending Big Bash League champions getty

The 2016/17 season of the Big Bash League is the sixth edition of the Domestic Twenty20 tournament that is held in Australia. Eight sides will compete against each other to become the T20 champions of Australia.

Sydney Thunder created history when they clinched their first title after defeating Melbourne Stars at the MCG in the last season. Perth Scorchers are the only side to win the Big Bash League on two occasions and will be targeting a win for the third time this campaign.

Below is the points table for the 2016/17 Big Bash League:

Brisbane Heat541008+0.997
Perth Scorchers532006+0.412
Sydney Sixers532006-0.671
Melbourne Renegades321004+0.817
Hobart Hurricanes422004+0.320
Melbourne Stars312002+0.342
Adelaide Strikers413002-0.382
Sydney Thunder514002-1.201

Win - 2 points

No result - 1 point

Tie - 1 point

Guyana Amazon Warriors10730014+0.120
Jamaica Tallawahs10630113+0.704
St Lucia Zouks10640012+0.336
Trinbago Knight Riders10550010-0.065
Barbados Tridents1036107-0.267
St Kitts and Nevis Patriots1028004-0.772