Shikhar Dhawan
Shikhar Dhawan [Reuters] Reuters

Two of cricket's fiercest rivals, India and Pakistan face each other in the sixth One Day International of the Asia Cup 2014 championship at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Sunday.

Where to Watch Live

Play is set to begin at 8:00am GMT. Live coverage will be available on Star Life OK. Follow the live text updates of the game on ESPN Cricinfo.


India suffered a defeat against Sri Lanka in the fourth match of the Asia Cup 2014 last Friday. The world champions managed to set a target of 264 runs having lost nine wickets in 50 overs. Shikhar Dhawan (94) was the star of India's innings as the opener missed out on a century by six runs. Skipper Virat Kohli, who powered his side to a victory against Bangladesh was their second highest scorer with 48 runs.

The Lankans successfully chased the target before the final over of the innings despite losing eight wickets with their top order doing most of the damage. Mohammed Shami and Ravindra Jadeja did well with the ball to bag three wickets each, but the former was the costliest bowler for the Indians with an economy rate of 8.1 runs. Ravichandran Ashwin took two wickets while conceding only 42 runs in the 10 overs he bowled.

Meanwhile, Pakistan lost their opening game of the tournament to Sri Lanka but managed to recover and emerge victorious against minnows Afghanistan with a bonus point. Except Ahmed Shehzad (50), the defending champions' top order failed to stand their ground and needed the batting expertise of Umar Akmal. The wicketkeeper remained unbeaten to score 102 runs off 89 balls to take his team from 117 in the 30th over to 248 by the end of their innings.

The Afghans could not counter the bowling strength of Misbah-ul-Haq's side as they succumbed to a total of 176 runs on the board. Mohammad Hafeez was the highest wicket-taker with three scalps while Saeed Ajmal and Umar Gul added two each to their names.

Kohli will be wary of the threat the Pakistani bowlers pose while Misbah-ul-Haq will be hoping that his side can restrict his counterpart from smashing the ball beyond the boundary.

Team News


Probable Lineup: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Varun Aaron


Probable Lineup: Sharjeel Khan, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Maqsood, Misbah-ul-Haq (c), Shahid Afridi, Umar Akmal (wk), Anwar Ali, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Junaid Khan