Sarfaraz Khan
Sarfaraz Khan has been the star player for India in the U19 World Cup Getty

India and Sri Lanka battle for a spot in the final when they face each other in the semis of the U19 World Cup on 9 February (Tuesday) at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Bangladesh.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 3am GMT. Live coverage of the game is available in the UK on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD. Click here for the live streaming link.


The two sub-continental teams in India and Sri Lanka will be eyeing a spot in the final when they lock horns in the semi-final of the U19 World Cup on 9 February (Tuesday).

Three- time winners India come into this clash on the back of some impressive performances, the most recent one being their 197 run win over Namibia in the quarter-final. The "Boys in Blue" are unbeaten in the tournament and arguably have the most in-form batting line-up at present.

Rishabh Pant and Sarfaraz Khan have been in scintillating form while seamer Avesh Khan has been both stingy and effective, picking up 9 wickets so far. India are expected to play the same team that thrashed Namibia in the quarter-final.

India's opponents in the semis, Sri Lanka, were not expected to progress this far in the competition. However, they have surprised many a team with their fight and teamwork. In what will only be their third appearance in the semi-final of the U19 World Cup, skipper Charith Asalanka will be looking to his spinners to perform in what is their strongest suit.

Sri Lanka's six-wicket win over England in the quarter-final saw Wanidu Hasanranga and co thrive against them, not giving them pace to work on the ball. India will be a different proposition but if the Islanders are to win then the spinner will need to work their magic.


India to win

Betting odds (888sport)

  • India to win: 3/10
  • Sri Lanka to win: 5/2

Team news


Squad: Ishan Kishan (capt.), , Rishabh Pant (vice-capt), Khaleel Ahmed, Zeeshan Ansari, Rahul Batham, Ricky Bhui, Mayank Dagar, Armaan Jaffer, Sarfaraz Khan, Amandeep Khare, Avesh Khan, Mahipal Lomror, Shubham Mavi, Anmolpreet Singh, Washington Sundar,

Sri Lanka

Squad: Charith Asalanka (capt.), Sammu Ashan, Kaveen Bandara, Jehan Daniel, Avishka Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Wanidu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara, Kamindu Mendis, Charana Nanayakkara, Thilan Nimesh, Vishard Randika, Lahiru Samarakoon, Damitha Silva.