US Open Final: Andy Murray’s Winning Moments Against Novak Djokovic (PHOTOS)
Andy Murray-Novak Djokovic [Reuters] Reuters

For the final player list from the draft, click here

The biggest names from the past and present in the world of tennis will go under the hammer during the draft of the International Premier Tennis League (IPTL) in Dubai on Sunday.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) style tennis tournament has been organised by former doubles player Mahesh Bhupathi. The event will take place at the end of the calendar year in November and December in Asia.

Top tennis players, including Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray and the 2014 Australian Open winner Stanislas Wawrinka, will take part in the competition.

Serena Williams and Victoria Azarenka are a few of the names from the women's section to make it to the list. Legends of the game like Pete Sampras and Andre Agassi are also part of the event.

Former World No 1 Roger Federer is the only big name to have decided not to take part in the IPTL.

IPTL Format

The event will take place between 28 November and 29 December across five cities in Asia. The ITPL will feature five teams based in Hong Kong, Mumbai, Singapore, Bangkok and Kuala Lumpur playing home and away.

The match will have five sets and all formats of the game will feature in every match: one set of men's singles, one set of women's singles, one set of double's, one of mixed doubles and finally between the legends.

Victoria Azarenka
Victoria Azarenka [Reuters] Reuters

Should there be a tie breaker after the end of the fourth set, the winner will be decided by the set being played by the legends. Every team will be given a budget up to £6.6m, according to Sky Sports.

This budget will be given to the team in order to sign players from present and past during the draft. The teams will be given an opportunity to select six to ten players to compete in the ITPL event at the end of the year.

Players' List

The players taking part in the competition have been listed under various categories. The first includes top players in both men's and women's sections who have been clubbed as Iconic Players.

The rest have been put in Category A, B, C and D for both men's and women's. The remaining two include doubles players and past champions.


Rafael Nadal
Rafael Nadal [Reuters]

Icon Players: Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Andy Murray, Stanislas Wawrinka, Andre Agassi, Pete Sampras

Category A: David Ferrer, Tomas Berdych, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga

Category B: Richard Gasquet, Milos Raonic, Tommy Haas, John Isner, Gael Monfils, Lleyton Hewitt

Category C: Jerzy Janowicz, Philipp Kohlschreiber, Aleksandr Dolgopolav, Marcos Baghdatis, Fablo Fognini, Feliciano Lopez, Fernando Verdasco

Category D: Kevin Anderson, Marinko Matosevic, Sam Querrey, Dmitry Tursunov, Somdev Devvarman, Janko Tipsarevic, Rendy Lu


Caroline Wozniacki
Caroline Wozniacki [Reuters] Reuters

Icon Players: Serena Williams, Victoria Azarenka, Caroline Wozniacki

Category A: Agnieszka Radwanska

Category B: Ana Ivanovic, Samantha Stosur, Sloane Stephens

Category C: Sara Errani, Jelena Jankovic, Angelique Kerber, Svetlana Kuznetsova, Martina Hingis, Daniela Hantuchova

Category D: Sabine Lisicki, Kirsten Flipkens, Alize Cornet, Kristina Mladenovic, Su-Wei Hsieh, Francesca Schiavone, Flavia Pennetta, Sania Mirza, Donna Vekic

Past champions: Patrick Rafter, Mark Phillipoussis, Juan Carlos Ferrero, Michael Chang, Goran Ivanisevic, Fabrice Santoro, Rainer Schuettler, Carlos Moya

Doubles players: Bruno Soares, Aisam-ul-Haq Qureshi, Alexander Peya, Marcin Matkowski, Marcelo Melo, Mariusz Fyrstenberg, Marc Lopez, Daniel Nestor, Rohan Bopanna, Robert Lindstedt, Nenad Zimonjic