Ross Taylor
Ross Taylor [Reuters] Reuters

New Zealand have sealed the ongoing One Day International (ODI) series against India, winning the fourth ODI at the Seddon Park in Hamilton on Tuesday.

The hosts managed to chase down a target of 279 set by the visitors with 11 balls to spare in their innings.

MS Dhoni won the toss and decided to bat first. Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli opened the innings for the visitors. Shikhar Dhawan and Suresh Raina were dropped for the fourth ODI.

However, Kohli failed to replicate his batting performances in the first two ODIs and departed for just two runs. He was then followed by Ajinkya Rahane, who added three runs to the total.

With just 22 runs on the scoreboard, Sharma and Ambati Rayadu (37) took their team beyond the 100-run mark before the latter was dismissed by Hamish Bennett.

Sharma (79) threw away his wicket before India could reach the 150 runs as he edged Kane Williamson's delivery into the hands of Luke Ronchi. Southee struck again to dismiss Ravichandran Ashwin (5) as he cut the ball straight into the hands of Bennett at third man.

India had lost five wickets with 151 runs on the board and their hero in the previous match, Ravindra Jadeja (62), stepped on to the pitch. He remained unbeaten alongside Dhoni (79) to help their team to a total of 278 runs in 50 overs.

New Zealand got off to a bright start and openers Martin Guptill (35) and Jesse Ryder (19) built a 54-run partnership for the first wicket. Varun Aaron bowled Ryder while Guptill departed in the next over, falling leg before wicket to Mohammed Shami.

Williamson (60) and Ross Taylor ensured their side remained on course for a series victory. The all-rounder nicked Jadeja's delivery towards short mid-on and attempted a run, but the latter was too quick and hit the stumps at the non-striker's end before the right-handed batsman could make it safely.

Taylor went on to complete his century and remained unbeaten at 112, lasting until the end with skipper Brendon McCullum (49) to ensure the Black Caps' victory in the series.

New Zealand lead 3-0 after four ODIs following their wins in the first two matches in the five-match series. The third ODi was a tie.