Click here to read how Twitter reacted after Pakistan defeated Bangladesh

Shahid Afridi
Shahid Afridi looks disappointed after Pakistan lose their chance of qualifying for the Asia Cup final following their loss to Bangladesh Getty

Click here to follow IBTimes UK's live blog between Pakistan v Bangladesh

Pakistan will take on Bangladesh in the Group 2 fixture of the 2016 ICC World Twenty20 at Eden Gardens, Kolkata, on 16 March (Wednesday).

Where to watch live

Match starts at 9:30am GMT/3pm IST. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD in the UK. Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 3 will telecast it in India. Click here for the live streaming link.


Pakistan have finally made it to India after their participation in the T20 World Cup was in doubt due to security concerns. After being assured by the host nation's government and a clearance from their own government, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) decided to take part in the ICC event in India.

Bangladesh made it to the main stage of the T20 World Cup after beating Oman to top their group in the final qualifier fixture. They come into this tournament after losing the 2016 Asia Cup final to India in their own backyard.

Tamim Iqbal
Tamim Iqbal was in fine form for Bangladesh during the World T20 qualifiers Getty

During the Asia Cup, Mashrafe Mortaza's side managed a victory over Pakistan. Al-Amin Hossain was the star man with the ball as his three wickets for 25 runs in four overs helped to restrict Pakistan to 129 runs.

Soumya Sarkar's 48 helped Bangladesh chase the target as they sealed a victory over Pakistan. Bangladesh will be looking to kick-start the 2016 T20 World Cup with a win over Pakistan and it should be seen how Shahid Afridi's side will react and bounceback from their latest Asia Cup disappointment.


Pakistan to win

Betting odds (betfair)

  • Pakistan to win: 8/13
  • Bangladesh to win: 5/4

Team news


Squad: Ahmed Shehzad, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi (C), Anwar Ali, Mohammad Sami, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Irfan


Squad: Soumya Sarkar, Tamim Iqbal, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Mohammad Mithun, Taskin Ahmed, Arafat Sunny, Al-Amin Hossain.