David Warner
David Warner has been the star player for Sunrisers Hyderabad with the bat in IPL 2016 Getty

David Warner led his side from the front as Sunrisers Hyderabad won the IPL 2016 after defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore, who fell eight runs short of the target in the final.

Royal Challengers Bangalore were by far the best side in the 2016 Indian Premier League season but fell short in the final against Sunrisers Hyderabad at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium on 29 May, Sunday.

Sunrisers Hyderabad were in fine form with the bat as they managed 208 runs in 20 overs, while losing seven wickets in the process. David Warner was the star player with the bat as he managed 69 runs at the top set the platform for others.

Shikhar Dhawan (28) and Yuvraj Singh (38) chipped in with the bat and was well supported by Ben Cutting down the order. His unbeaten 39 off 15 balls that helped them post a total above 200 runs.

RCB had a chance of winning the match and things went as per the plan. Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli gave a good start and made sure they managed over 140 runs in 13 overs, while both the openers were back in the dugout.

Wickets fell at regular intervals and apart from Gayle and Kohli, no other batsman shone with the bat, which resulted in them managing 200 runs in 20 overs. This resulted in a defeat and following that IBTimes UK has complied some Twitter reaction after the match.

#RCB right now! #IPLfinal pic.twitter.com/hdlrIUkw4m

— Deepshikha (@Tweepshikha) May 29, 2016

Aaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrr Ceeeeeeeeee, oh wait!!!#LOL #SorryNotSorry#IPLFinal #RCBvSRH

— Fanatix (@fanatix63) May 29, 2016

Virat kohli
Man of series in wt20 2014-loss
Man of series in wt20 2016-loss
Man of series in ipl 2016-loss
cricket is cruel game #IPLfinal

— SAMRAAT (@DynamiteXI) May 29, 2016

Orange Army winning in Modi's India.

— Trendulkar (@Trendulkar) May 29, 2016

Vijay Mallya's Misdeeds Overshadowed Virat Kohli's Good Works. #SRH Are The True Champs Of #IPL9#SRHvRCB #RCBvSRH #IPLfinal #IPL2016

— Sir Ravindra Jadeja (@SirJadeja) May 29, 2016

Sachin and Binny. Come on Flipkart!

— Trendulkar (@Trendulkar) May 29, 2016

R: Royal
C: Chokers
B: Bangalore#SRHvsRCB #IPLfinal #IPL2016

— ʏօɢɛֆɦ ֆɨռɢɦ™ (@yogidbest) May 29, 2016