Dustin Johnson, Jim Furyk, Brandt Snedeker and Steve Stricker are Team USA captain Davis Love III's four wildcard picks for the 2012 Ryder Cup at Medinah.

Love overlooked the likes of Ricky Fowler, Nick Watney and Hunter Mahan in the 12-strong team to face Europe later this month as he opted to side with experience and form going into the three-day event.

While Snedeker, who finished third at the Open Championship but won at the Farmers Insurance Open via a play-off, will make his debut, Johnson, Furyk and Stricker have 10 appearances between them.

Davis Love III
Love has completed his 12-man line up for Medinah. Reuters

"It's been an incredible two-year journey for me," Love said. "I've been anxious about this day and I'll be happy when it's over to play golf. It was obviously a tough decision. We have a lot of guys playing great, but I'm so excited about these four players.

"It was tough to leave anyone off. We talked to a lot of the guys we left off. There are a lot of guys who have played a lot of good golf. It was tough but we feel we have picked four really great players."

"The eight players on the team gave me a lot of input. I think we put together the strongest team we could have. Since the British and the PGA, there were some guys who stepped up and handled the pressure really well.

"I'm excited to take these 12 guys, who have totally bought into that this is their team, not Davis' team, but the U.S. team.

"I love Dustin Johnson on that course," he added. "I love our whole team on that course. We've got a great driving team.

"When you look at Furyk and Stricker, that's a lot of good putting. We've been thinking our pairing and we've based our picks on pairings. We want our guys to know who they'll be playing with.

"The European is obviously a great team and they're play well. [Jose Maria] Olazabal, like me, had a tough choice. But I'm excited about my team."

The quartet complete the 12-strong US team which will aim to reclaim the Ryder Cup after a dramatic defeat at Celtic Manor two years ago.

Team Europe captain Jose Maria Olazabal competed his team last week by selecting Nicolas Colsaerts and Ian Poulter as his two wildcards.

Teams in full:

Team USA: Keegan Bradley, Jason Dufner, Jim Furyk, Dustin Johnson, Zach Johnson, Matt Kuchar, Phil Mickelson, Webb Simpson, Brandt Snedeker, Steve Stricker, Bubba Watson, Tiger Woods.

Team Europe: Nicolas Colsaerts, Luke Donald, Sergio Garcia, Peter Hanson, Martin Kaymer, Paul Lawrie, Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy, Francesco Molinari, Ian Poulter, Justin Rose, Lee Westwood.