Serena Williams
Serena Williams returned to the PNB Paribas Open after a 14-year gap Getty

World No 1 Serena Williams takes on Belarus's Victoria Azarenka in the final of the BNP Paribas Open at Indian Wells on 20 March.

Where to watch live

The match is expected to start at 6pm GMT. Live coverage of the game is available on BT Sport 1 and BT Sport 1 HD in the UK. Live scores and real time updates are available on the WTA official website.


Serena Williams will look to win her first Indian Wells title in 14 years as she faces 13<sup>th seed Victoria Azarenka in the finals on 20 March. The World Number one who had boycotted the event for 14 years, progressed to the finals after beating World Number 3 Agnieszka Radwanska 6-4, 7-6 in the semi-final.

Williams, who is a two-time BNP Paribas Open winner, has only lost one main draw match at Indian Wells and will be looking for her 70<sup>th career title. A look at the duo's history shows that the American starts as favourite, as her all-round power would prove to be a major challenge for Azarenka.

Victoria Azarenka
Victoria Azarenka won the BNP Paribas Open in 2012 Getty

Her opponent, Victoria Azarenka comes into this tie on the back of a 7-6, 1-6, 6-2 win over Karolina Pliskova in the semi-final. The World Number 13 has won the Indian Wells once in 2012, but has not played a final this big since the Australian Open in 2013. Injuries have hampered Azarenka's career of late and a win here will help her move towards a spot in the top 10 rankings.

Betting odds (betfair)

  • Serena Williams to win: 3/10
  • Victoria Azarenka to win:5/2


The two have faced each other 20 times in WTA history with Serena Williams winning 17 of those encounters. They last played in the quarter final of Wimbledon in 2015, Williams won the game 3-6, 6-2, 6-3.

PNB Paribas Masters history

Williams and Azarenka have never played each other at the Indian Wells Masters.