Josh Davey
Scotland's Josh Davey took 15 wickets in just six matches at the ICC 2015 Cricket World Cup Getty

Afghanistan take on Scotland in the second match of 2016 ICC T20 World T20 qualifiers on Tuesday, 8 March, at Nagpur.

Where to watch live

The match will start at 1.30pm GMT. Live coverage of the game is available in the UK on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD. In India the game will be shown on Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 3. Click here for the live streaming link.


The second game of the qualifiers sees Afghanistan take on Scotland in Group B on 8 March at Nagpur. Afghanistan, who will take part in their second consecutive T20 World Cup campaign, have made rapid progress since they stepped onto the big stage.

In Mohammad Shehzad and Samiullah Shenwari they have two batsman who are in fine form and will have to fire consistently if Afghanistan are to qualify for the main round. The bowling will fall on the shoulders of Shapoor Zadran and Mohammad Nabi, who are canny customers with the ball.
Should they qualify, they will be grouped with England, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies.

Led by Preston Mommsen, Scotland are an efficient if not spectacular side, as seen in the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup where they gave New Zealand and Bangladesh a scare. The problem with Scotland is that they are dependent on Kyle Coetzer and Josh Davey in the batting and bowling departments respectively and if the two players have a bad day, the team tends to struggle.
Scotland last played in the ICC T20 World Cup in 2009 and will look to enter the main round after a gap of seven years.


Scotland to win

Betting Odds (betfair)

  • Afghanistan to win: 1/3
  • Scotland to win: 11/5

Team News


Squad: Asghar Stanikzai (c), Amir Hamza, Dawlat Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Hamid Hassan, Karim Sadiq, Mohammad Nabi, Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Najibullah Zadran, Noor Ali Zadran, Rashid Khan, Samiullah Shenwari, Shafiqullah, Shapoor Zadran, Usman Ghani, Mirwais Ashraf, Najeeb Tarakai, Rokhan Barakzai, Yamin Ahmadzai


Squad: Preston Mommsen (c), Richie Berrington, Kyle Coetzer, Matthew Cross (wk), Josh Davey, Con de Lange, Alasdair Evans, Michael Leask, Calum MacLeod, Gavin Main, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Rob Taylor, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt