Erik Lamela
Erik Lamela is back to his best form for Spurs this season Getty

Tata Martino has named Tottenham's Erik Lamela in his latest 26-man Argentina squad, filling the gap left by the recent injury of Lionel Messi. Manchester United pair Sergio Romero and Marcos Rojo, along with Manchester City's Sergio Aguero, Martin Demichelis, Nicolas Otamendi and Pablo Zabaleta are all in the squad for the World Cup 2018 qualifier against Ecuador on 8 October, followed by a home clash with Paraguay five days later.

Lamela has been out of Martino's squad in recent times, but the injuries to Messi and Sevilla midfielder Ever Banega have seen him grab a new chance in the national team, especially after his impressive performance in Tottenham's 4-1 victory over Manchester City.

The Argentine attacker has put summer transfer rumours behind him, scoring in the Europa League opener against Qarabag before putting on arguably his best performance in a Spurs shirt in the win over City, scoring one goal and providing another.

He replaces Messi, who is expected to be out of action for around two months after he damaged ligament in his left knee during Barcelona's La Liga encounter with Las Palmas.

Argentina squad for upcoming fixtures