Mesut Ozil
Mesut Ozil (center) with new teammates Lukas Podolski (left) and Per Mertesacker (right) Arsenal FC

German coach Joachim Löw has announced his 30-man preliminary squad for next month's World Cup, including four Premier League players.

A friendly game against Poland next week is expected to help Low narrow the group down to a final squad of 23 before an official announcement on 2 June.

Germany will go to the tournament as one of the favourites to win the trophy after they were beaten by Spain in the semi-final of the 2010 World Cup in South Africa – having also reached the semi-final in the 2012 European Championship.

The Premier League will be represented by four players including three from Arsenal in Mesut Ozil, Per Mertesacker and Lukas Podolski who are joined by Chelsea playmaker Andre Schurrle.

Arsene Wenger's primary summer target Julian Draxler has also being named alongside Marco Reus and Tony Kroos who are reportedly being chased by Manchester United.

Meanwhile, goalkeeper René Adler, midfielder Ilkay Gundogan and striker Mario Gomez are notable omissions and will have no role to play in Brazil this summer.

However, Real Madrid star Sami Khedira and veteran Miroslav Klose are in the provisional squad even though they have been on the sidelines for several months due to long-term injuries.

Germany open their World Cup campaign against Portugal on June 16 before facing United States and Ghana in their other two group stage games.

Löw has picked the following squad:

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern), Roman Weidenfeller (Dortmund) y Ron-Robert Zieler (Hannover)

Defenders: Philipp Lahm (Bayern), Jerome Boateng (Bayern), Erik Durm (Dortmund), Benedikt Howedes (Schalke 04), Mats Hummels (Dortmund), Marcell Jansen (Hamburg), Shkodran Mustafi (Sampdoria), Matthias Ginter (Friburgo), Per Mertesacker (Arsenal) y Marcel Schmelzer (Dortmund).

Midfielders: Sami Khedira (Real Madrid), Lars Bender (Leverkusen), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern), Kevin Grosskreutz (Dortmund), Julian Draxler (Schalke 04), Leon Goretzka (Schalke 04), Mario Gotze (Bayern), André Hahn (Augsburg), Toni Kroos (Bayern), Max Meyer (Schalke 04), Thomas Muller (Bayern) y Mesut Özil (Arsenal),

Forwards: Kevin Volland (Hoffenheim), Miroslav Klose (Lazio), Lukas Podolski (Arsenal), André Schürrle (Chelsea) y Marco Reus (Dortmund).