Australia won the last series held in their own backyard Getty

England will take on Australia in the first match of the 2015 Ashes series at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff from 8 July to 12 July.

Where to Watch Live

The match starts at 11am BST. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 2 (Sky Sports Ashes) and Sky Sports 2 HD. Click here for the live streaming link.


Australia currently hold the Ashes Urn after a 5-0 whitewash in their backyard during the 2013/14. Michael Clarke and his side will be hoping to retain the title and also win on English soil for the first time since 2001.

The visitors have failed to win the Ashes in their last four trips, something Australia will be looking to change this time. In the last six series, the Three Lions have won on four occasions, while losing in 2006/07 and the last series.

James Anderson
James Anderson will be the key player for England to lead their bowling attack Getty

So far, there have been 68 Ashes series and Australia have won 32 out of them, one more than England. A victory for Alastair Cook and his men will help them level the overall tally. The last the two teams faced each other in England saw the hosts seal a 3-0 victory.

Australia have suffered a massive blow after bowler Ryan Harris was ruled out due to injury, which forced him to announce his retirement before the start of the series. Shane Watson will have a huge role to fill in the void left by Harris' absence.


England to win

Betting Odds (bwin)

  • England to win: 31/10
  • Draw: 12/5
  • Australia to win: 9/10

Team News


Possible XI: Alastair Cook (c), Adam Lyth, Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Moeen Ali, Stuart Broad, Mark Wood, James Anderson.


Possible XI: Adam Voges, David Warner, Steve Smith, Michael Clarke (C), Shane Watson, Brad Haddin (wk), Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Johnson, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon.