Click here to follow IBTimes UK's Live blog of World T20 clash between Australia v New Zealand

Australia players during a training session in Dharamsala Getty

Click here to follow IBTimes UK's Live blog of World T20 clash between Australia v New Zealand

Australia will take on New Zealand in a Group 2 fixture of the ICC T20 World Cup 2016 at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamsala, India on 18 March.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 9.30am GMT/3pm IST. Live coverage of the game is available on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD in the UK. Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 3 will telecast the match live in India. Click here for live streaming link.


Australia come into the T20 World Cup after defeating South Africa in a three-match T20 series 2-1. They were trailing after the defeat in the first match, but were able to make a comeback in the next two games and successfully chased big scores.

The team will be led by Steven Smith in the absence of Aaron Finch. Australia have power hitters in their squad and the list includes the likes of David Warner, Glenn Maxwell, James Faulkner and Shane Watson, who can be well supported by Usman Khawaja and captain Smith.

India New Zealand
New Zealand defeated India in their first match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2016 Getty

New Zealand enter this fixture after defeating tournament favourites India in Nagpur, central India. They struggled to score, but managed to put up 126 runs on the board. The Kiwis did not include two key bowlers Trent Boult and Tim Southee when they faced MS Dhoni's side.

The visitors were successful in restricting Indian batsmen and took wickets at regular intervals as they hosts lost seven wickets under 50 runs. New Zealand's win over India should give them a massive boost as they go forward in the tournament.


Australia to win

Betting odds (betfair)

  • Australia to win: 8/13
  • New Zealand to win: 5/4

Team news


Possible XI: Usman Khawaja, Shane Watson, Steven Smith (C), David Warner, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, James Faulkner, Peter Nevill (WK), John Hastings, Nathan Coulter- Nile, Adam Zampa.

New Zealand

Possible XI: Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson (C), Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Corey Anderson, Grant Elliot, Luke Ronchi (WK), Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi.

Click here to follow more about ICC T20 World Cup 2016