Bangladesh will take on England in the first One Day International (ODIs) scheduled between the two nations at the Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur on 7 October.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 9.30am BST. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD in the UK. Click here for the live streaming link.


The last time Bangladesh lost an ODI series in their own backyard was against India in 2014. Since then, they have gone on to win six ODI series at home, which includes victories over Pakistan, Indian and South Africa.

Bangladesh will be looking for another victory, this time over England. The last time the Three Lions made a trip was in February 2010 and the visitors registered a 3-0 comfortable win in the ODI series.

England have won three out of their last five ODI series and their last two away series have ended in defeats against South Africa and Sri Lanka. The visitors will be keen on setting things right and get a victory over Bangladesh in the three ODI matches in October.

Eoin Morgan has withdrawn from the series over security fears and this has allowed Jos Buttler to lead the side for the first time in a 50-over format. Ben Stokes will be his deputy.

Moeen Ali and Jos Buttler
Moeen Ali and Jos Buttler helped England beat BCB XI during the practice match Getty

England won their practice match against BCB Select XI because of impressive efforts from Buttler and Moeen Ali. The English side chased a target of 309 runs and won the match by four wickets.


Bangladesh to win

Betting Odds (betfair)

  • Bangladesh to win: 9/4
  • England to win: 2/5

Team News


Squad: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Mosharraf Hossain Rubel, Imrul Kayes, Shafiul Islam, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Taskin Ahmed and Al-Amin Hossain.


Squad: Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Liam Dawson, Ben Duckett, Steven Finn, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Chris Woakes.