Nico Rosberg
Nico Rosberg led Lewis Hamilton in both the practice sessions at the Spa Francorchamps Circuit in Belgium. (Getty)

It was a Mercedes show yet again with Nico Rosberg leading Lewis Hamilton in both FP1 & FP2 sessions at the iconic Spa Francorchamps circuit.

Where to Watch Live

The third free practice session begins on Saturday (22 August) at 10am BST, while the qualifying session starts at 1pm BST. Sky Sports F1 and Sky Sports F1 HD will provide live coverage of both events in the UK.

Real-time internet updates are available on the Live Timing section of the sport's official website.


The overall results at the Spa Francorchamps circuit after two sessions were similar to the previous race at the Hungaroring. The Mercedes led the way and the Red Bulls were the best of the rest for the second race running (in practice at least).

Rosberg led Hamilton in both sessions, with Daniel Ricciardo coming third. But the German had a tyre blow out in the latter part of the session that kept both the Mercedes vehicles in the garage for the last 20 minutes of the session.

The Australian continued his good form along with his teammate and could be strong on Sunday. The Red Bulls were quicker than the Silver Arrows in sector two during FP1, but the reigning world champions pulled it back in FP2.

Kimi Raikkonen seems upbeat after Ferrari exercised the option to extend his contract for the 2016 season, as he outpaced Sebastian Vettel in both the sessions.

Nico Hulkenburg and Romain Grosjean finished in the top 10 showcasing the power of the Mercedes engines on this track.

Felipe Nasr and Marcus Ericsson also managed a top 10 time with their new upgraded Ferrari engines, while McLaren-Honda continued their struggles and had to settle for a place in the penultimate row just ahead of the Manor racing team.

Top 10 results of the second practice session from Spa Francorchamps:

1. N Rosberg (GER) Mercedes 1:49.385

2. L Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes 1:49.687

3. D Ricciardo (GER) Red Bull 1:50.136

4. D Kvyat (FIN) Red Bull 1:50.399

5. K Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari 1:50.461

6. N Hulkenburg (GER) Force India 1:50.461

7. S Grosjean (FRA) Lotus 1:50.489

8. M Ericsson (SWE) Sauber 1:50.709

9. F Nasr (BRA) Sauber 1:50.928

10. S Vettel (GER) Ferrari 1:50.940