Jos Buttler
Jos Buttler is England's superstar in the shorter format of the game Getty

England host Sri Lanka in the only T20 International at Rose Bowl, Southampton on 5 July (Tuesday).

Where to watch live

Match starts at 6.30pm BST/11pm IST. Live coverage of the game in the UK is available on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD in the UK. Click here for the live streaming link.


The conclusion of Sri Lanka's month-long tour to England sees the teams move to the shortest format of the game where they play a solitary T20 International. The hosts have been victorious in both the Test and One Day International series and come into this game as the favourites.

There have been some brilliant performances from the Three Lions especially in the ODI format. Players like Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Jos Buttler, Joe Root, Ben Stokes and skipper Eoin Morgan can win a game individually on their own, which can be intimidating for the opposition.

Coming into this Twenty20 game, England will be without Root who has been rested while Stokes is out injured. Batsman James Vince and pacer Tymal Mills will be given a chance to prove themselves, fully knowing that with the competition for places in the squad, they will have to take this chance with both hands.

Visitors Sri Lanka would be glad to end their horror of a tour to England, where they have failed to win even one game against the hosts, despite having played four Tests and five ODIs.

In fact their only victories on tour have come against Ireland who they thrashed 2-0 in the ODIs. Skipper Angelo Mathews recently came out and said that he will not run away from the captaincy, but looking at their performances he has a tough job on his hands.

There have been glimpses of a fight shown by his team, in particular from Dinesh Chandimal who has been brilliant and batsman Kusal Mendis. Mathews himself has played crucial knocks, but it has been their bowlers who have let them down.

The loss of key bowler Dhammika Prasad to injury before the series even began was a big blow from which they failed to recover, thus putting them on the back foot even before a ball was bowled.


England to win

Team news


Squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler (wk), Liam Dawson, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, James Vince, David Willey.

Sri Lanka

Squad: Angelo Mathews (c), Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Dhananjaya de Silva, Nuwan Pradeep, Danushka Gunathilaka, Suraj Randiv, Suranga Lakmal, Farveez Maharoof, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Seekkuge Prasanna, Dasun Shanaka, Upul Tharanga, Lahiru Thirimanne.