Tottenham Hotspur's Gareth Bale has been named the Professional Footballers' Association Players' Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year for the 2012/13 season, becoming only the third footballer to clinch both honours in the same season. Only Cristiano Ronaldo and Andy Gray can boast similar a feat.

The 23-year-old overcame stiff competition to clinch the senior award, edging Liverpool's Luis Suarez and last season's winner Robin van Persie of Manchester United. The Wales international, who was Player of the Year in 2011, also became only the fifth player to land the main accolade twice.

"It's great to win it and I am delighted. It's a massive honour. To be voted by your peers is one of the biggest things in the game," Bale said. The player has enjoyed a stellar season with Tottenham so far this term, with 24 goals and 10 assists to his name form 40 appearances in all competitions.

"When you look at the list there are some massive names on it and the other nominees have been unbelievable this year, but I couldn't have done it without the team. They have been fantastic this year and so has the manager (Andre Villas-Boas). I couldn't have won it without them so I would like to give them all a big thank you as well," the Spurs midfielder added.

The Welshman came through the ranks at Southampton before joining Tottenham in 2007. Bale, Suarez and van Persie, withthe other three Player of the Year nominees - Michael Carrick and Chelsea pair Eden Hazard and Juan Mata - were named in the Premier League team of the year.

In the young player category, Bale beat Hazard, Christian Benteke of Aston Villa, West Bromwich Albion's on-loan striker Romelu Lukaku, Arsenal's Jack Wilshere and United's Danny Welbeck.

Premier League Team of the Year:David de Gea (Manchester United), Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City), Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham Hotspur), Leighton Baines (Everton), Juan Mata (Chelsea), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Luis Suarez (Liverpool), Robin van Persie (Manchester United).